How did scar get his scar?

There are two different canon answers for how Scar got his scar. One is that he received it from a herd of cape buffalo when a trap he had set for his brother, Mufasa, backfired. The other is that he was bitten by a cobra and the venom eventually turned Scar into the twisted lion of The Lion King.