What's a hockey jersey called?

A hockey jersey, is a piece of clothing worn by ice hockey players to cover the upper part of their bodies. It is traditionally called a sweater, as, in earlier days, when the game was predominantly played outside in winter, it actually was a warm wool-knit covering.