Did they use tanks in world war one?

The first use of tanks on the battlefield was in WW1, with the use of British Mark 1 tanks at the Battle of Flers-Courcelette (part of the Battle of the Somme) on 15 September 1916, they had mixed results; many broke down, but nearly a third succeeded in breaking through the German lines.