Why did fortnite go black?

The Fortnite "Black Hole" Season 11 Event indicating shutdown, seems to be actually a large marketing scheme, created on purpose by game developer Epic Games, to cause a massive social media hysteria in attempt to use the crowd panic as a free advertisement