What instrument did johnny appleseed play?

John Chapman, better known as Johnny Appleseed, did not play any instrument. He was an American pioneer nurseryman, who introduced apple trees to large parts of Pennsylvania, Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, and Ontario, as well as the northern counties of present-day West Virginia, between 1790-1840.