When is it considered freezing?

To freeze in the strictest sense of the word is to be turned into a solid such as when liquid water becomes ice. The freezing point of water is 0° Celsius or 32° Fahrenheit. Colloquially however, freezing means any cold temperature that can be harmful or deadly to a person, even if it's above 32°.