Who wrote god rest ye merry gentlemen?

God Rest You Merry, Gentlemen is an English traditional Christmas carol. It is one of the oldest extant carols, dated to the 16th century or earlier, according to historians. The earliest known printed edition of the carol is in a broadsheet dating back to 1760.