How many lines does a dollar sign have?

The dollar sign is a symbol consisting of a capital "S" crossed with one or two vertical strokes. The one- and two-stroke version are often considered mere stylistic variants, although in some times or places one of them may have been specifically assigned, by law or custom, to a specific currency.