How many bears live in the united states?

Smarter than the average bear. There are currently about 55,000 wild grizzly bears total located throughout North America, most of which reside in Alaska. Only about 1,500 grizzlies are left in the lower 48 states of the US. Of these, about 800 live in Montana.