What does p. t. stand for in p. t. one oh nine?

The P.T. in PT-109 stands for patrol torpedo boat which was last commanded by Lieutenant (junior grade) John F. Kennedy in the Pacific theater during World War II. His actions to save his surviving crew after the sinking of PT-109 made him a war hero.