Why do they call cory booker spartacus?

During supreme court confirmation hearings Booker leaked some documents and said "This is about the closest I'll ever have in my life to an 'I am Spartacus' moment". Booker was referencing film Spartacus, during which slaves all claim they are Spartacus in an effort to save their friend.