Why are baby boomers called baby boomers?

The term baby boom refers to a noticeable increase in the post World War 2 birth rate. The increase in population was described as a "boom" by newspaper reporters. The Baby Boom generation is most often defined as those individuals born between 1946 and 1964, and called baby boomers or boomers.