How long do you sear tuna?

How long to sear tuna? That depends. Do you want the tuna still rare on the inside, or totally cooked. For rare on the inside, heat oil in a non-stick pan over medium-high heat. When the oil is hot sear the tuna on each side for about 2 minutes until a golden crust forms.