What causes carbon dioxide?

Carbon dioxide is produced from burning carbon based fuels, ie. oil, gas, wood, coal, etc. It is also produced by animals, including humans, during respiration and exhaled. Plants use carbon dioxide and produce oxygen, released through their leaves.