What is the windiest state?

The windiest weather tends to occur in the Plains, while the least windy weather occurs in the Southeast. The top 5 windiest states are: Nebraska, Kansas, South Dakota, North Dakota and Iowa. The top 5 least windy states are: Mississipi, Florida, Kentucky, Georgia,and Alabama.

---

The Department of Energy analyzed wind patterns across the U.S. for the purposes of finding out which states offer the best wind power. The five windiest are: Nebraska, Kansas, South Dakota, North Dakota, and Iowa.