What is a blowfly?

any of a family (Calliphoridae) of dipteran flies (such as the bluebottle or screwworm) that deposit their eggs especially on meat or in wounds.

---

According to Encyclopedia Britannica, a blowfly is any member of a family of insects in the fly order, Diptera, that are metallic blue, green, or black in color. They are very noisy in flight, and are slightly larger than house flies, but resemble them in their habits.