How did shaquem griffin lose his hand?

Griffin was born with amniotic band syndrome. His left hand was never going to fully form and in fact was causing so much pain that when he was 4, his mother, Tangie, decided surgery to amputate was necessary, coming one day after she found him trying to perform the operation on himself