How do you use emotes in minecraft?

A player can "equip" around 6 of their emotes at a single time. Pressing the B button or D-Pad left on Xbox One controllers, left button/D-Pad left on Nintendo Switch controllers, D-Pad left on PlayStation 4 controllers or even tapping the Emote button on the top of the screen opens the emote menu