What is conjunctive heart failure?

Congestive heart failure is characterized by “congestion” or “backing up” of fluid in the lungs (if the heart failure affects the left side of the heart) or “backing up” of fluid in the liver and the lower extremities (if the heart failure affects the right side of the heart).