Why are people putting stuffed animals in their windows?

The practice of putting stuffed animals in your window or other public-facing location originated in early 2020 as a way to support kids who were not in school and isolated due to COVID-19 restrictions. Kids and their parents would walk or drive around and find the animals in a teddy bear hunt.