What's the difference between white cake and yellow cake?

White cake uses only, or almost all, egg whites. Yellow cakes get their color and more custardy flavor from using whole eggs, including the yolks. White cake tends to call for cake flour, which includes corn starch, while yellow cake requires bleached all-purpose flour.

---

Egg yolks