When did the u. s. acquire puerto rico?

From the landing of Columbus in 1492 until 1898, Puerto Rico was a colony of Spain. In 1898, Spain lost the Spanish-American war and gave Puerto Rico and Guam to the United States. Cuba was made a protectorate of the U.S., and the U.S. bought the Philippines.