Which planet has the fewest moons?

Mercury, the smallest and innermost planet, has no moons, or at least none that can be detected to a diameter of 1.6 km (1.0 mi). For a very short time in 1974, Mercury was thought to have a moon. Venus also has no moons, though reports of a moon around Venus have circulated since the 17th century.