Why is the golden gate bridge red?

The golden gate bridge is red because it complements the natural surroundings and enhances the bridge's visibility in fog.

---

In 1937, the Golden Gate Bridge officially opened. The color of the bridge is an orange vermilion officially called “International Orange.” The color was selected because it complements the natural surroundings and enhances the bridge's visibility in fog.