Why do birds squawk?

Birds will squawk if frightened, bored, lonely, stressed, or not feeling well. Pet birds often squawk when people are talking loudly, vacuuming, chatting on the phone, or playing music, as birds may see these times as appropriate for vocalizing back as part of normal loud 'flock' behavior.