Was new york founded by quakers?

When we think of Quakers, we think of 1682, William Penn, and the founding of Pennsylvania as a safe haven for Quakers. Before Pennsylvania, the main Quaker settlements were in New England: Rhode Island, New York, Long Island, Maryland, Virginia, and the West Indies.