How do you know if a peach is ready to eat?

Smelling the peach is a good way to tell if it's ready to eat. A peach that's not yet ripe won't have a strong smell. But as peaches ripen, their aroma becomes stronger and a fully ripe peach will smell, well, like a peach. But by far the best way to tell if a peach is ripe is by feeling it.