What's the definition of animatronic?

Animatronic, as an adjective, describes lifelike robots used in film and other entertainment, like theme parks. The robots use a combination of mechanical and electrical construction to simulate autonomous movement. Some require a human operator at the controls, others are fully automatic.

---

Animatronic, spelled A-N-I-M-A-T-R-O-N-I-C, describes something as being a lifelike puppet operated by machinery, usually for film or some other form of entertainment.