Where was the andy griffith show set?

The Andy Griffith Show took place in the fictitious Mayberry, N.C., a sleepy rural town. The show was filmed at Desilu Studios, with exteriors filmed at Forty Acres in Culver City, CA. Woodsy locales were filmed north of Beverly Hills at Franklin Canyon.