When was electricity harnessed?

Alessandro Volta (Italy) developed a usable battery in 1800 and Michael Faraday (UK) developed rudimentary electric power generation in the 1820's. It took a little time to find uses for electricity: electroplating (1830's) and telegraphy (1840's). Electric motors were used from the 1830's.