How long is a lizard's tail?

Depends on the lizard. As a defense mechanism in order to distract its predator lizards sevar their tails. The small green anole has a tail, only about four inches long, but it takes about two months to grow back. Meanwhile, a longer iguana tail might take more than a year to grow back.