When was the u. s. dollar invented?

After the U.S. Constitution was ratified, Congress passed the "Mint Act" of April 2nd 1792, which established the coinage system of the United States and the dollar as the principal unit of currency. By this Act the U.S, became the first country in the world to adopt the decimal system for currency.