Can you keep an axolotl as a pet in minecraft?

Unfortunately, players cannot tame axolotls like wolves, but they can get very close to having an axolotl as their pet in Minecraft. Once the player has located an axolotl, the first thing to do is use a bucket of water on it to get bucket of the axolotl.