When was the first car accident?

The first fatal car accident happened in a steam powered car in Ireland in 1869. The first car accident in the U. S. happened in Ohio in 1891, when the driver of a single cylinder gasoline fueled carriage lost control and according to various reports it hit a tree or a hitching post.