How do you get powdered snow in minecraft?

In Java Edition, a cauldron in a snowy biome fills with powder snow when it is snowing. Powder snow can then be picked up from this cauldron with an empty bucket . Using a powder snow bucket places powder snow. Placed powder snow can be picked up again with an empty bucket.