When was salami invented?

It's unknown when the first salami as we know them today were made. In Roman times, they belonged to a group of food called salsum, meaning salted. Even in prehistoric times, salt was known to be an important way to preserve meat; salt naturally expels water and blocks the proliferation of bacteria