What is a d. x. f. file?

DXF is short for Drawing Exchange Format or Drawing Interchange Format and is a type of vector file. DXF was introduced in December 1982 as part of AutoCAD 1.0, and was intended to provide an exact representation of the data in the AutoCAD native file format, DWG.