Where does the sky start?

The sky begins where you end. Hold out your hand, touch the gaseous atmosphere and you are touching the sky of the earth.

---

It begins at your feet and extends about 300 miles up. What we see as the sky is really an optical illusion caused by light being scattered by the atmosphere,