What's the difference between grout and mortar?

Grout is used to fill the gaps between tiles, as in mosaics or floor tiles. Mortar is used to fill the gaps and hold together bricks in masonry. Mortar is a type of concrete. Grout is thinner than mortar and more fragile.

---

Grout is commonly used on tiled floors and walls. Mortar is used to adhere bricks to each other.