When can you start teaching babies sign language?

Choose a few signs to start. When you think your baby is getting the hang of it and signing back, add more signs to the repertoire. Banana. Teaching your baby signs for foods can help you get an idea of its favorites. "Banana," a common first food, is a good one to try.