What makes kosher salt kosher?

kosher salt and sea salt are the same. Kosher salt earned its name from it's original purpose to kosher meat meaning to bleed out the blood from the animal. It has nothing to do with kosher dietary guidelines. Sea salt is directly evaporated from seawater.

---

Kosher salt is mainly sodium chloride, the same as regular salt, except the flakes are coarse. Kosher salt is also less likely to contain additives like iodine. The salt itself is not manufactured under religious guidelines, but its name refers to its use in the Jewish practice of dry-brining meats.