Where do viruses live?

The problem with viruses is that they are not alive. Bacteria are alive and that is why antibiotics work against the life form of a bacteria but are ineffective against a virus. A virus does not live. It has no DNA. It has only RNA or one half of a DNA strand and does not have DNA's self-checking.