How long should a cook a tri tip?

cook a 2-pound cut for 35-40 minutes until the meat has reached an internal temperature of 125 degrees

---

How long to cook a tri-tip? It depends upon your cooking method and the degree of doneness you prefer. Whether baking, frying, or grilling, the finished tri-tip should reach an internal temperature of 120 to 170 degrees F. (Rare to Well Done.) Most like beef done to Medium or 145 degrees. actions