What is a free range chicken?

According to the U.S. Department of Agriculture, free range means that chickens have access to the outdoors for at least some part of the day, whether the chickens choose to go outside or not. Less than 1% of chickens nationwide are raised as “free range,” according to the National Chicken Council.

---

Free range refers to chickens who are not caged but instead have the freedom to move around a large outdoor area. While the chickens have the option, many prefer to stay within the enclosed area likely due to perceived safety issues.