What is a free range chicken?

According to the U.S. Department of Agriculture, free range means that chickens have access to the outdoors for at least some part of the day, whether the chickens choose to go outside or not. Less than 1% of chickens nationwide are raised as “free range,” according to the National Chicken Council.