What is the movie independence day about?

The 1996 sci-fi film Independence Day is about an alien invasion of earth which decimates the world's leaders and military. An unlikely group of scientists, military members, and the President converge in Nevada to plan an attack. Rallying people around the world, they defeat the aliens on July 4.