Why do flamingos eat upside down?

Like many other wading water birds, Flamingos feed on tiny crustaceans, plants, and larvae that live on lake beds of shallow water. Flamingos use the large pointed beaks on their heads at the end of a long flexible neck, which allows them to stand upright with their heads down foraging for food.