What does s. u. c. c. o. u. r. s. mean?

To succour is to offer help to someone. "Succours" is the third person, singular, present tense version of this word that would be used with subjects like "she," "he," or "it." In the USA, this word is spelled S-U-C-C-O-R-S, while the rest of the English-speaking world spells it S-U-C-C-O-U-R-S.