What is an irregular vowel?

Common examples include, but are not limited, to: IGH as in "high" or "sight" -NG as in "sing," "song," "sung" OST as in "most" (but not "lost" or "cost") uses the long sound instead of the normal short sound. OW has two different sounds as in "low" and "cow." (or, "sow" and "sow.")