What is a cat breed?

A cat breed is a group of domestic felines that descended from a select subset of cats, typically have similar traits & characteristics, & R recognized as a true breed with a pedigree documenting recent line of descent. Examples of cat breeds include: Maine Coon Cat, Persian, Turkish Angora & Bombay