Who wrote the lyrics to the lion king?

The soundtrack for the original animated, 1994 movie, The Lion King contains songs composed by Elton John with lyrics by Tim Rice, and musical score numbers by Hans Zimmer. It includes popular songs such as Circle of Life, Hakuna Matata, and Can you feel the love tonight?